The Orchards’ Story

The Orchard House, located just fifteen minutes from Charlotte, began with a love story. William H. Orchard came to the U.S. in 1845 from Cornwall, England at the age of 20. Originally, he settled up North and there met his wife, Elizabeth Fitcher of Yorkshire, Pennsylvania. In 1847, they married and embarked on their journey of love.

The Orchards moved to Concord, NC in 1853. William had been hired to run the Phoenix Gold Mine (now the Green Oaks Golf Course), the second largest mine on the East Coast. The Orchards lived a full life, having 10 children. William served as a Captain for the Confederate Army in the War Between the States. After the war, he was elected to the North Carolina State Assembly in 1878.

The Orchards had a great love for one another and their estate. Today, we carry on the Orchard’s legacy and their love story through each of our bride’s own unique journeys of love.

© Copyright The Orchard House - Designed by Pexeto
%d bloggers like this: